Barts and The London RFC 

   The Rugby Club of St. Bartholomew's and The Royal London School of Medicine and Dentistry

History of BLRFC

A powerpoint presentation on the history of BLRFC, made by Apples for his 2006 SSM can be found here.




Barts and The London Rugby Club or Royal Hospitals RFC was formed when in 1996 the Medical Schools of St Bartholomew's in the City and The Royal London in the heart of the East End were merged. The two proud Medical Schools who were once arch rivals were to come together to try to provide the highest quality Medical Education. BLRFC, until 2001, played their matches at Hale End (The London's Old Ground) and have since played at Chislehurst (Bart's Old Ground).

The Royal London Hospital Rugby team was formed in 1869 and a Barts Hospital team formed in 1875.

Barts and The London compete every year in the UH (United Hospitals) Cup with the other London Medical Schools RUMS, ICSM, GKT & Georges as well as the Royal Vet College. The UH Cup is the oldest rugby cup competition in the world.

The UH Cup was first won in 1875 by Guys Hospital (the oldest rugby club in the world). The trophy has been won by The Royal London on 11 occasions (the last in 1986) and by Barts 9 times (the last in 1977). Barts and The London won the trophy for the first time since their merger in the 2012 final, a feat they repeated in 2013.

UH Challenge Cup Victories:

Royal London (11 victories):


  • 1884
  • 1885
  • 1904
  • 1906
  • 1908
  • 1914
  • 1955
  • 1957
  • 1965
  • 1968
  • 1986

Barts (9 victories):

  • 1881
  • 1883
  • 1924
  • 1928
  • 1931
  • 1969
  • 1970
  • 1976
  • 1977

Barts and The London

  • 2012
  • 2013 


Below is an article written in the book "London's Oldest Rugby Club," by Dick Tyson. Available at Amazon and other good book stores.

To view the page click here.